Sugar & Gold - Get Wet!

release date:


1) Feels Like Fire
2) Sneek Freq
3) It's All Over You
4) Couvade
5) Salty Seraphim
6) Temptation/Fascination
7) Stay Soft
8) Bodyaches
9) Call Me (Softly)
10) AYA

With Get Wet!, the second album from San Francisco quintet Sugar & Gold, the band has turned in a complex and cerebral pop record that represents a huge step forward from their disco-tinged debut. Get Wet!’s expanded palette includes elements of Electro, 80’s R&B, New Wave Psychedelia, and German Minimalism, woven together in a framework of transcendent modern pop. If debut album Crème was the ultimate hookup record, Get Wet! represents the work that goes into keeping the relationship fresh and vital. Sometimes things are magical, and sometimes they are hard. And sometimes, shit just falls apart. Make no mistake, Sugar & Gold are still bringing the grooves and party vibe the way no others can, but if you look closely, you might spot a tear or two on the dance floor this time around.

Recorded throughout 2009 in between high profile US touring including sold out festival appearances at SXSW, CMJ, and Fun Fun Fun Fest (to name a few) and opening slots for kindred spirits !!! and Of Montreal, Get Wet! is a transcendent pop album that is as emotionally broad as it is stylistically eclectic, an album that will move every part of your body and spirit.

Available on CD, MP3 and limited edition 140 gram LP (including free download and bonus track Closer!)

Some Words About Get Wet!

“Get Wet! has mastered the use of electricity, power pop, and that signature ‘70s and ‘80s lovin’ feeling. Its so perfected, in fact, that it wouldn’t be out of place in the tape deck of Dr. Brown’s time traveling DeLorean while taking it for a cruise down the discotheque way.” — Verbicide

“Contagiously fun and zanily eccentric, a sort of poppy vibrant valiance that isn’t entirely retro but isn’t wholly nouveau-schematic, either…if Chromeo were to resurrect Rick James, collaborate with Jamiroquai, and then make a dance album with Simian Mobile Disco, this is probably what it would sound like.” — Urb

“Get Wet! ends up being a very good dance-pop record that should please those who like a little bit of brains in their mindless good times.” — All Music Guide